Promo Code is active.

Show artwork for Wild

Next Narrative Monologue Competition Seattle Regional Finals

Friday, April 7 at 7:30 p.m.

Bagley Wright Theater

At the Next Narrative Monologue Competition™ (NNMC) Seattle Regional Finals, watch 10 teen finalists perform new monologues by America’s leading Black playwrights on the Bagley Wright stage, plus a world premiere performance of The State of the Students by Rachel Atkins from the runners-up. The top two competitors will receive an all-expense-paid trip to New York City. Come cheer these talented actors on and enjoy a night of performances. 

The event will be ASL interpreted.

"The State of the Students" by Rachel Atkins

Like the Presidential State of the Union address, The State of the Students is a message to the public on the current conditions of our nation, created directly from the writings of young people.  

"In 2021, I posted an online questionnaire for young people, asking for their thoughts, feelings and experiences around racism, antisemitism, and white nationalism as part of the Western States Center’s Common Good Masterclass for Artists & Cultural Workers: Combatting Racism, Antisemitism, and Antidemocratic Movements. 137 youth responded from all over the United States. The words in this play are their own voices." —Rachel Atkins, playwright

The State of the Students created by Rachel Atkins with support from Seattle Office of Arts and Culture.


Monologue Performers

Brianne Slaughter

Evie Sweet

Hersh Powers

Joshua Rhodes

Laela Johnson

Leah Thomison

Lelena Moore

Malia Silva

Rosemary Thornton

Savanah Coleman

Crew & Creative Team

Deanna Martinez

Creative Director

Nabra Nelson


Gabrielle Moore

Arts Engagement Staff

Bri Olson

Arts Engagement Staff

Ellie Hughes

Production Manager

Mel Williams 

Lightning Designer

Brodrick Ryans

State of the Student Director

Rachel Atkins

State of the Student Playwright

Aaron Alonso

State of the Students Stage Manager

John Tavares

Stage Operations Supervisor

Jolene Obertin

Properties Director

Sann Hall

Director of Production

Roger Chapman

Technical Director

Mike Hase

Associate Technical Director

Lily McLeod

Lighting Associate

Ashley Burns

COVID Safety Manager

Nico Vargas

Ground Zero Radio

Masao Yamada

Ground Zero Radio


Shermona Mitchell

Steven Anthony Jones

Gabrielle Moore

Shaunyce Omar

Kaytlin McIntyre

LaNita Hudson

Prelim Judges

Bethany Hystad

Jesica Avellone

Jo Ben-Shmuel

Lou Cooper

Tatyana Emery

Nick Marston

Semi-Final Judges

QuiQui Dominguez

Jimmy Shields

Brodrick Ryans

Rachel Atkins

State of the Students


Tyanna Curry

Emily Prado-Casillas

Leila Neidlinger

Kaelynn Miller

Ethan Mayo

Jazlynne Aldama

Helena Young

Ilhan Ahmed

Dylan Sagahon Smith

Hamdi Elmi

Luis Olvera

Norah Acker

Josie O’Neill

Ella Molinaro

Image for Next Narrative Monologue Competition
About the Program

Next Narrative Monologue Competition

Learn more about the NNMC, the playwrights, and more.

Image for Meet The NNMC Participants

Meet The NNMC Participants

We asked a few of the students involved in this year's NNMC Seattle Regional Finals to share their favorite plays, what drew them to the competition, and more.

Special Thanks

Special thanks to Ground Zero Radio

 1626383726881 dkbme5